June 7, 2018

Detroit Swindle - High Life LP

HEISTLP01Detroit Swindle present ‘High Life’, their second studio album due on the 28th May on the duo’s own Heist Recordings. The heart of the album was recorded over a three week period at their Amsterdam studio in March 2017, and the release will coincide with the fifth anniversary of the label. Since forming in 2011, the Dutch duo have carved a unique place for themselves in the scene. Their sound - which merges references from multiple decades into one smooth aesthetic - quickly rose to popularity for its careful blend of soul and rhythm, taking cues from their passion for obscure records, with influences ranging from house and funk to afrobeat and soul. Dynamic live shows and DJ sets afford them a packed touring schedule across the globe, whilst their label Heist Recordings is credited with consistently breaking new artists. The album explores the intersection of live and electronic music, with much of the improvised material left largely untouched to maintain its organic sensibilities. Detroit Swindle describe the album as an “electronic album with a live approach, combining our love for house, ambient and jazzy harmonics, making it a record interesting for the club, as well as a pleasant album to put on at home.


May 16, 2018

Oliver Koletzki & Niko Schwind - Noordhoek


Extraordinary pieces of music have long stood in direct correlation to the physical surroundings that inspire them. When Oliver Koletzki and Niko Schwind packed up their Berlin studios last April to spend a month locked away in a cottage nestled in the stunning nature of Cape Town’s Noordhoek area before heading to AfrikaBurn, little did they know that its long beaches, dramatic mountain views and the heritage of its indigenous people would have such a profound effect on the club-ready sound they had championed with a string of EPs and live-performances since 2015. The result of four weeks of geo-cultural stimuli and creative experimentation culminated in the album Noordhoek, released in May 2018 on Stil vor Talent. While the productions on Noordhoek display the same on-point sound design of previous Oliver Koletzki and Niko Schwind releases, the impressive emotional depth and electronic floor-focus of its twelve tracks effortlessly merge with complex rhythmic textures to form a contemporary narrative on ancient dance rituals. After a roller coaster ride through twelve versatile yet coherent productions, one thing is certain as the ultimate crack of thunder crashes down on Noordhoek: South Africa fuelled the creative energy of two remarkable musicians, who where able to translate the abundance of their impressions into a truly original world of sound. 


May 16, 2018

Syclops - Pink Eye LP


Pink Eye Written and produced by Maurice Fulton. “An Original Dr. Scratch Mix” Published by Buttrubb Music. players. Karo Brandi, leader of all of what you see, plus all of the artwork. Hanna Sarkari ,all guitars. Mim Suleiman all drums and percussion. Maurice Fulton. All keyboards bass and drum programming. Recorded and mixed at BubbleTease Communications Sheffield UK 


May 15, 2018

Tin Man - Acid Acid Acid LP

Acid Test reissues the highly sought after ‘Acid Acid’ 3 LP from Tin Man, now titled ‘Acid Acid Acid’ and includes a 4th disc of unreleased material recorded from the period, and has been remastered by Stefan Betke. 


April 5, 2018

Stimming / Dave Dk - Frankfurt Main, Saida 222

 Hart & Tief turns 3. As the most fascinating yet tremendous of creatures, H&T relaunches its sound in every release, like a shiny day that gently welcomes an outrageous storm leaving your body wet and your mind connected with what’s next. Everlasting artists Dave DK & Stimming are the chosen ones to break through the clouds and reach the dimension beyond what’s predictable. SoulPhiction, Mike Dehnert, Robag Wruhme and Dj Koze delivered the first 2 releases, showing what not to expect from the Hart & Tief state of beat: comforting sounds for predictable minds. Let’s turn it upside down: deep emotional trips for like-minded clubbers and artists. Non-conformist dancefloors and exacting passionate crowds. Hamburg-based, Stimming and Dave DK have built their experience through uncountable tracks and performances. Turning the lights off and playing it loud is what they are best known for. On this special occasion, painting the vinyl specially dark is what they were desiring and the frame brings together two superb tracks: Frankfurt Main and Saida222. Stimming has built in a sneaky percussion with an enormous engaging touch. Buoyed up by a textured bass, Frankfurt Main reaches the center of what an in-depth track aims to be. Saida222 takes us on a contemplative, introspective and melodic journey, a route usually explored by Dave DK in his previous and acclaimed works. Both tracks are pushing a refreshing and windy vision that, far beyond from being “just obscure", gets us closer to a wise enlightening experience.


April 5, 2018

Steve Bug & Langenberg - Paradise Sold (2lp)

 The irresistible pairing of Steve Bug and Langenberg return with ‘Paradise Sold’ - a full double-vinyl- album of exquisitely crafted house music on Bug’s own Poker Flat Recordings. Tracklist: A1. Senior Elfo A2. NGC 6240 B1. Paper Stabs B2. Sleepwalker’s Bridge C. A Touch Of Detroit D1. Search For Xur D2. Late Harvest The irresistible pairing of Steve Bug and Langenberg return with ‘Paradise Sold’ - a full double-vinyl- album of exquisitely crafted house music on Bug’s own Poker Flat Recordings. Neither Steve Bug nor Langenberg needs much introduction due to the sizeable contributions both have made in building the European house and techno scene as we know it. Bug’s relentless commitment to quality - both in his own work and in the many producers he has championed - has made him one of electronic music’s most revered artists and curators. Langenberg aka Max Heesen is the deep guru of the German Seep House Scene. One half of the duo Ribn, he has released on labels like Drumpoet, STHLM Audio, Strax Leaves, Ovum and most notably on Dessous who put out his debut solo LP released in late 2016. Put these two dons in a studio together, and the results are truly special. The album is a masterclass in house music production and came to life as a true collaborative work. “It feels great to work with Max and I don’t know why we didn’t get to work together earlier” says Steve Bug. “It feels very natural to be in the studio together and our two worlds match easily. I think I speak for the both of us, when I say, by combining forces we came up with tunes, that we wouldn’t have created on our own.